Chick Lit display for spring

DSCF0950 (2)

It’s easy to ignore books none of the library staff reads but Chick Lit is popular (and I’m a big fan of Bridget Jones!) so I thought it deserved a bit of promotion for a change. It’s an awful name for a genre and (as I’ve mentioned before) I hate the way books are marketed to men/women or girls/boys. I’m hoping the “chick” pun and the “spring” display will distract people from the “feminine” covers and perhaps encourage some men to try the books, but perhaps that’s wishful thinking? I copied the display idea from the Oakridge branch of Vancouver Public Library, but avoided the pink background.

Leave a Reply

